Society Announces Candidates for ASCO Election

Get Permission

Fourteen distinguished ASCO members have been selected by the ASCO Nominating Committee as candidates for open leadership positions within the Society for the 2014 ASCO Election. Biographic information and interviews with each candidate, as well as instructions for casting a proxy ballot, will be made available at when proxy voting opens on Tuesday, October 29. The proxy voting will close on Tuesday, November 26. The proxy ballots will be delivered to the ASCO President or his designee for official casting at a special meeting to be held on December 3, 2013, at ASCO Headquarters.

Election results will be announced by mid-December 2013; elected candidates will assume office at the 2014 ASCO Annual Meeting in June. ■

© 2013. American Society of Clinical Oncology. All rights reserved.

2014 ASCO Candidates

President-Elect Candidates

Lynn M. Schuchter, MD, FASCO
University of Pennsylvania

Julie M. Vose, MD, MBA, FASCO
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Board of Directors—Community Oncologist Candidates

Linda D. Bosserman, MD, FACP
Wilshire Oncology Medical Group

William N. Harwin, MD
Florida Cancer Specialists & Research Institute

Board of Directors—International Oncologist Candidates

David Khayat, MD, PhD, FASCO
Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital, France

Purvish M. Parikh, MD, DNB, FICP, PhD, ECMO, CPI, MBA
Indian Cancer Care Society, India

Board of Directors—Radiation Oncologist Candidates

Thomas A. Buchholz, MD, FACR
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Walter J. Curran, Jr, MD, FACR
Emory University Winship Cancer Institute

Board of Directors—Undesignated Specialty Candidates

Charles D. Blanke, MD, FACP, FRCPC, FASCO
Oregon Health & Science University Knight Cancer Institute

Arti Hurria, MD
City of Hope

Nominating Committee—Undesignated Specialty Candidates (2 Open Seats)

Blase N. Polite, MD, MPP
The University of Chicago Center for Clinical Cancer Genetics & Global Health

Gregory H. Reaman, MD, FASCO
U.S. Food and Drug Administration Center for Drug Evaluation & Research

David R. Spriggs, MD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Emile E. Voest, MD, PhD
University Medical Center Utrecht, Netherlands.