American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Awards Eight Research Grants

Get Permission

The American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) has announced eight grant recipients across three research programs to support its mission to foster, develop, and encourage investigative knowledge in dermatologic surgery.

Jumpstart Research Seed Grants

Three Jumpstart Research Seed Grants were awarded in 2019:

  • Spencer Bezalel, MD, Mayo Clinic: “Evaluation of noninvasive nonthermal irreversible electroporation on cutaneous tissue”
  • Jigar Patel, MD, Duke University: “Evaluation of the accuracy of computer-guided laser delivery vs a human operator for cutaneous applications”
  • Wesley Yu, MD, University of California, San Francisco: “Mechanisms of immune tolerance”

Cutting-Edge Research Grants

Four Cutting-Edge Research Grants were awarded in 2019:

  • Monica Boen, MD, Cosmetic Laser Dermatology: “A randomized clinical trial comparing the efficacy and safety of radiofrequency micro­needling vs nonablative fractional 1550 nm erbium”
  • Maggie Chow, MD, University of California, San Diego: “Genetic markers for metastatic cutaneous squamous cell carcinomas of the head and neck among patients with solid organ transplants”
  • Michael Renzi, MD, Cooper Dermatology: “The effect of compression therapy on postoperative healing and complication rate in dermatologic surgery”
  • Joseph Sobanko, MD, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania: “Cost-analysis and shifting trends of melanoma surgery in different operative settings from 2008 to 2018”

Established in 2015 and supported by the Allergan Foundation, the Fredric S. Brandt, MD, Innovations in Aesthetics Fellowship Fund continues the legacy of its namesake cosmetic dermatologist by promoting and supporting the career development of junior cosmetic dermatologic surgeons focused on cosmetic treatments and patient care. Recipients must be enrolled in an ASDS-accredited Cosmetic Dermatologic Surgery Fellowship Training Program. Hyemin Pomerantz, MD, of the Laser & Skin Surgery Center of New York, is the sole recipient in 2019 for her research project, “Comparison of energy-based devices in the treatment of atrophic acne scars utilizing objective measurement with a new 3D imaging system."