2019 ASCO Election Candidates

Get Permission

The ASCO Nominating Committee has selected 15 distinguished ASCO members as candidates for open leadership positions within the Society, including:

  • The office of President-Elect
  • Three seats on the Society’s Board of Directors
  • Three seats on the Nominating Committee

Biographical information and interviews with each candidate are on the ASCO website.

Eligible ASCO members* may vote for their chosen leaders during the election period, which will run from November 1–December 3, 2018.

President-Elect Candidates (1 seat, 4-year term)

  • Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO, University of Michigan
  • Carolyn D. Runowicz, MD, FASCO, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Florida International University, Miami

Board of Directors—Community Oncologist Candidates (1 seat, 4-year term)

  • Lee S. Schwartzberg, MD, FACP, West Cancer Center
  • Michael A. Thompson, MD, PhD, FASCO, Advocate Aurora Health

Board of Directors—Surgical Oncologist Candidates (1 seat, 4-year term)

  • Andrew M. Lowy, MD, FACS, University of California San Diego Moores Cancer Center
  • Elizabeth A. Mittendorf, MD, PhD, Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center

Board of Directors—Undesignated Specialty Candidates (1 seat, 4-year term)

  • Ethan M. Basch, MD, MSc, FASCO, University of North Carolina
  • Samir N. Khleif, MD, Georgetown Lombardi Cancer Center

Nominating Committee—Community Oncologist Candidates (1 seat, 3-year term)

  • Edward P. Balaban, DO, FACP, FASCO, Penn State Cancer Institute
  • Thomas A. Marsland, MD, FASCO, St. Joseph Health System
  • Piyush Srivastava, MD, Kaiser Permanente

Nominating Committee—Undesignated Specialty Candidates (2 seats, 3-year term)

  • Sharon H. Giordano, MD, MPH, FASCO, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Suresh S. Ramalingam, MD, Emory University
  • Brian I. Rini, MD, FACP, Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute
  • Colin D. Weekes, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital

Election results will be announced mid-December, and newly elected officers will begin their terms of service at the conclusion of the 2019 ASCO Annual Meeting in Chicago.

*Eligible members are those who are Full members or Emeritus members who were formerly Full members and who are in “good standing” as of October 17, 2018. 

© 2018. American Society of Clinical Oncology. All rights reserved.