NIH Announces 15 Clinical and Translational Science Awards 

Get Permission

Translating basic discoveries into new treatments that tangibly improve human health requires innovative collaborations and resources, as well as a diverse, highly trained workforce. To help meet these needs, the National Institutes of Health recently announced more than $79 million in fiscal year 2013 funding to support 15 Institutional Clinical and Translational Science Awards.

CTSA Program

Led by the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, the Clinical and Translational Science Awards program catalyzes improvements across the entire spectrum of translational research through efforts to broadly develop, demonstrate and disseminate health interventions. It serves as a connector to engage key partners including other NIH institutes and centers, patient groups, communities, health-care providers, industry, and regulatory organizations.

“Science and technology are progressing at an unprecedented pace, and the [Clinical and Translational Science Awards] program — which represents NIH’s largest single investment in clinical research — is helping researchers harness these innovations and deliver improved diagnostics, treatments and cures for disease,” said NIH Director Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD.

“The Clinical and Translational Science Awards Consortium is leading national efforts to enhance the efficiency, quality, and safety of translational research, no matter the disease or condition,” said Director of National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, Christopher P. Austin, MD.

Award Recipients

The 2013 awards expand consortium representation to New Hampshire with an award to Dartmouth College, extending the network to 31 states and the District of Columbia. The institutions receiving 5-year awards are:

  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York
  • Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire
  • Duke University, Durham, North Carolina
  • Harvard Medical School, Boston
  • Indiana University, Indianapolis
  • Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore
  • Ohio State University, Columbus
  • Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California
  • Stanford University, Stanford, California
  • Tufts University, Boston
  • University of Colorado, Denver
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas
  • University of Utah, Salt Lake City

To learn more about how Clinical and Translational Science Awards supported investigators are translating basic discoveries into improved health, visit ■