ASTRO Elects New Officers

Get Permission

The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) recently announced the election of new leaders of its Board of Directors. These five new officers started their terms at the Annual Business Meeting at ASTRO’s 54th Annual Meeting in Boston, which was held October 28-31, 2012.

“Exceptional leadership is one of the key components of a successful organization,” said Leonard L. Gunderson, MD, MS, FASTRO, of the Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, Arizona, and Chairman of the ASTRO Board. “I am certain that these newly elected officers will continue to uphold the Society’s integrity and dedicated service to our members and our profession. Congratulations to my esteemed colleagues.”

The new Board of Directors members are:

President-elect: Bruce G. Haffty, MD, FASTRO, The Cancer Institute of New Jersey at Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

Clinical Affairs and Quality Council Chairman: Carol A. Hahn, MD, Duke University Medical Center

Clinical Affairs and Quality Council Vice-chairman: Lawrence B. Marks, MD, FASTRO, University of North Carolina School of Medicine

Education Vice-chairman: Paul M. Harari, MD, FASTRO, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Government Relations Vice-chairman: Geraldine M. Jacobson, MD, MBA, MPH, West Virginia University School of Medicine.

Also at the ASTRO Annual ­Meeting, ­Colleen A. Lawton, MD,
of the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, assumed the role of ASTRO President, following the term of Michael L. Steinberg, MD, of the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, Los Angeles. ■