American Society of Hematology Elects New Leadership

Get Permission

The American Society of Hematology (ASH) recently announced the election of four new members to its Executive Committee, the governing body of the organization, for terms to begin in January 2013. At the same time, ASH President-elect and Vice President will begin their tenures as ASH President and ASH Vice President, respectively.

David A. Williams, MD, will serve a 1-year term as Vice President, followed by successive terms as President-elect and President. Stephanie J. Lee, MD, MPH, will serve a 4-year term as Secretary. Jonathan D. Licht, MD, and Margaret A. Shipp, MD, will both serve 4-year terms as Councillors.

“Each of these individuals is extremely well-respected in our field and has already contributed a great deal to the Society,” said 2012 ASH President Armand Keating, MD, of Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto. “I have every confidence in these newly elected Society leaders to further ASH’s commitment to move hematology forward during this very exciting time.”

Wide-ranging Credentials

Dr. Williams is Chief of Hematology/Oncology and Director of Translational Research at Boston Children’s Hospital, Associate Chairman of the Department of Pediatric Oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Leland Fikes Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School, and Director of the Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Program at Dana-Farber/Children’s Hospital Cancer Center.

Dr. Lee is a member of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and Professor of Medical Oncology at the University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle. She is an Attending Physician in the Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation Program at Fred Hutchinson and the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance.

Dr. Licht is the Johanna Dobe Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Hematology/Oncology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago. He also serves as the Associate Director of Clinical Sciences at Northwestern’s Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, where he is also an Attending Physician in the cancer center’s Leukemia Program.

Dr. Shipp is Professor of Medicine at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School, Chief of the Division of Hematologic Neoplasia in the Department of Medical Oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Director of the Lymphoma Program at Dana-Farber/Harvard Comprehensive Cancer Center, and Attending Physician in the Stem Cell Transplantation Program at Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center in Boston.

2013 ASH President and President-elect

In addition to the newly elected leaders, current ASH President-elect Janis L. Abkowitz, MD, will become ASH President in 2013, succeeding Dr. Keating. Linda J. Burns, MD, currently ASH Vice President, will become 2013 President-elect.

Dr. Abkowitz is the Hematology Division Head, Clement A. Finch Professor of Medicine, and Adjunct Professor of Genome Sciences at the University of Washington. She is also Director of the Hematology Clinic at Seattle Cancer Care Alliance and an attending physician at the University of Washington Medical Center. She earned her medical degree at Harvard University before completing her Internal Medicine residency at Beth Israel Hospital in Boston and Hematology/Oncology Fellowship at the University of Washington.

Dr. Burns is Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology, Oncology, and Transplantation at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. She earned her medical degree at the University of Missouri, Columbia, where she was elected to Alpha Omega Alpha, and completed an internal medicine residency, chief residency, and hematology/oncology fellowship at the University of Iowa. ■