National Academy of Medicine Elects 80 New Members

Get Permission

THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF MEDICINE announced the election of 70 regular members and 10 international members during its annual meeting in October. Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. 

Newly Inducted Oncology Members 

THE NEWLY ELECTED members bring the Academy’s total membership to 2,127 and the number of international members to 172. Of the 80 newly inducted members, 10 have a background in oncology. 

Scott Allen Armstrong, MD, PhD, Chair, Department of Pediatric Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Associate Chief, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Boston Children’s Hospital; and David G. Nathan Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School, Boston 

Howard Y. Chang, MD, PhD, Professor of Dermatology and Director, Center for Personal Dynamic Regulomes, Stanford University School of Medicine, California 

Lewis A. Chodosh, MD, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Cancer Biology; Professor of Medicine; Associate Director for Basic Science, Abramson Cancer Center; and Co-Director, 2-PREVENT Translational Center of Excellence, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia 

Alan D. D’Andrea, MD, Fuller-American Cancer Society Professor, Department of Medical Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School, Boston 

Chanita A. Hughes Halbert, PhD, Professor, Endowed Chair, and Associate Dean of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science, Hollings Cancer Center, College of Medicine, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston 

V. Craig Jordan, OBE, PhD, DSc, FMedSci, FAACR, Dallas/Ft. Worth Living Legend Chair of Cancer Research, Professor of Breast Medical Oncology, and Professor of Molecular and Cellular Oncology, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston 

Lynne Elizabeth Maquat, PhD, J. Lowell Orbison Endowed Chair and Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics; Professor, Wilmot Cancer Institute; Director, Center for RNA Biology; and Chair, Graduate Women in Science, University of Rochester, New York 

Ramon E. Parsons, MD, PhD, Director, Tisch Cancer Institute; and Professor and Chair, Department of Oncological Sciences, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York 

Martin Pomper, MD, PhD, Henry N. Wagner Jr Professor of Radiology, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore 

Suzanne L. Topalian, MD, Professor of Surgery and Oncology, and Associate Director, Bloomberg-Kimmel Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore ■