American Association for Cancer Research Inducts 2015 Class of Fellows of the AACR Academy

Get Permission

Kenneth C. Anderson, MD

Carlos L. Arteaga, MD

Anton J.M. Berns, PhD

Bruce A. Chabner, MD

Ronald A. DePinho, MD

Susan D. Desmond-Hellmann, MD, MPH

Robert N. Eisenman, PhD

Douglas R. Lowy, MD

Carol L. Prives, PhD

Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD

Craig B. Thompson, MD

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) has announced 11 new fellows of the AACR Academy.

The AACR Academy is an entity that recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to cancer research and/or cancer-related biomedical science. Only individuals whose work has had a significant and long-lasting impact on the field are eligible for election as an AACR fellow.

“Our 2015 class of fellows includes 11 luminaries in the field of cancer research, in honor of the 11 founders of the AACR in 1907. We are delighted to recognize the incredible scientific accomplishments of these illustrious researchers and celebrate how their dedicated efforts have helped accelerate the pace of progress against many of the hundreds of diseases we collectively call cancer,” said Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc), Chief Executive Officer of the AACR.

Members of the 2015 class of fellows of the AACR Academy are:

  • Kenneth C. Anderson, MD, Director, Jerome Lipper Multiple Myeloma Center and LeBow Institute for Myeloma Therapeutics, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, Director, Center for Cancer Targeted Therapies; Director, Breast Cancer Program; and Associate Director for Clinical Research, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
  • Anton J.M. Berns, PhD, Senior Group Leader, Division of Molecular Genetics, Netherlands Cancer Institute, and Director, Skoltech Center for Stem Cell Research, Moscow
  • Bruce A. Chabner, MD, Director of Clinical Research, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Ronald A. DePinho, MD, President, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Susan D. Desmond-Hellmann, MD, MPH, Chief Executive Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Robert N. Eisenman, PhD, Member, Division of Basic Sciences, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
  • Douglas R. Lowy, MD, Deputy Director, Center for Cancer Research; Chief, Laboratory of Cellular Oncology; and Head, Signaling and Oncogenesis Section, National Cancer Institute
  • Carol L. Prives, PhD, Da Costa Professor, Columbia University
  • Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD, Chief of Surgery, National Cancer Institute
  • Craig B. Thompson, MD, President and Chief Executive Officer, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

All fellows are nominated and elected through a rigorous peer-review process conducted by existing fellows of the AACR Academy and ratified by the AACR Executive Committee. This process involves an assessment of each candidate on the basis of his or her scientific achievements in cancer research and cancer-related biomedical science.

This group of global leaders in cancer research offers invaluable insight into the future of cancer research and patient care and works with the AACR in its mission to prevent and cure all cancers. The AACR will formally induct its 2015 class of elected fellows of the AACR Academy at the AACR Annual Meeting 2015, to be held April 18–22 in Philadelphia. ■