ASCO Leadership for 2022–2023 Term Announced

Get Permission

Individuals elected to ASCO leadership for the 2022–2023 term were announced earlier in the year. Lynn M. Schuchter, MD, FASCO, was elected to serve as the Society’s President beginning in June 2023. Dr. Schuchter will take office as President-Elect immediately after the 2022 ASCO Annual Meeting in Chicago. Seven new members were also elected to the ASCO Board of Directors and Nominating Committee.

Newly Elected ASCO Board Members

The following four physicians will begin 4-year terms as members of ASCO’s Board of Directors starting in June 2022.

Carolyn B. Hendricks, MD, FASCO, has been elected to the Designated Community Oncologist seat. Dr. Hendricks is a medical oncologist specializing in breast cancer genetics, screening, and treatment at Maryland Oncology Hematology PA. She has served on a number of ASCO committees, including as Chair of the ABIM-ASCO Breast Cancer Exam Subcommittee, Chair-Elect of the Practice Quality Improvement Steering Group, Past Chair of the Government Relations Committee, and a member of Clinical Practice Committee and the Quality Training Program Steering Group, among other volunteer service.

Frederick Chite Asirwa, MD, MBChB, has been elected to the Designated International Oncologist seat. Dr. Asirwa is Chief Oncologist and Hematologist and Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director of the International Cancer Institute in Kenya. He is a member of the European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO)/ASCO Task Force for Global Curriculum for Training in Medical Oncology and has previously served on the ASCO International Affairs Committee, ASCO Education Council, ASCO’s Academic Global Oncology Task Force, and the ASCO-ESMO Global Oncology Curriculum Committee. Recently, Dr. ­Asirwa served as faculty in the ASCO Virtual Research Training for West African Researchers.

Karen M. Winkfield, MD, PhD, has been elected to the Designated Radiation Oncologist seat. Dr. Winkfield is Executive Director of the Meharry-Vanderbilt Alliance and a radiation oncologist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. She is Chair of the ASCO Diversity and Inclusivity Task Force, a member of the ASCO Government Relations Committee and the ASCO-ACCC (Association of Community Cancer Centers) Collaboration to Increase Participation of Racial & Ethnic Minority Populations in Cancer, and Associate Editor for Cancer.Net. Dr. Winkfield was recently appointed by President Joe Biden to serve on the National Cancer Advisory Board.

Ann H. Partridge, MD, MPH, FASCO, has been elected to an Undesignated Member seat. Dr. Partridge is Vice Chair of the Department of Medical Oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, where she also serves as Director of the Adult Survivorship Program and Co-Founder and Director of the Program for Young Women with Breast Cancer. She is Professor at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Partridge has served on numerous ASCO committees and initiatives including as Chair of both the Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee and Scientific Program Committee for the 2018 Annual Meeting. She chaired the Center for Disease Control’s Advisory Committee on Breast Cancer in Young Women from 2010 to 2017 and is leading national clinical research endeavors as Co-Chair of the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology Breast Committee and a member of the NCI Breast Cancer Steering Committee. Dr. Partridge is a recipient of a Champions of Change award from the U.S. White House, among other honors.

Newly Elected Members of the ASCO Nominating Committee

Members of the Nominating Committee are tasked with developing a slate of candidates for elected ASCO positions. The following physicians will each serve a 3-year term on the ASCO Nominating Committee, beginning in June 2022:

Dan S. Zuckerman, MD, FASCO, has been elected to the Designated Community Oncologist seat. Dr. Zuckerman is Director of Gastrointestinal Oncology and the former system Medical Director of St. Luke’s Cancer Institute. He focuses on gastrointestinal medical oncology and is Adjunct Professor of Medicine at the University of Washington Medical School.

Cardinale B. Smith, MD, PhD, has been elected to an Undesignated Member seat. Dr. Smith is Associate Professor, Thoracic Oncologist, and Palliative Medicine Physician at the Mount Sinai Tisch Cancer Center at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. She is a member of the ASCO Joint Certifications Committee, Quality Publications Task Force, and Quality Care Symposium Planning Committee, among additional past volunteer service.

Rachna T. Shroff, MD, has been elected to an Undesignated Member seat. Dr. Shroff is Associate Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Section of GI Medical Oncology, Leader of the University of Arizona Cancer Center GI Clinical Research Team, Director of the Clinical Trials Office, Associate Dean of Clinical and Translational Research at UA College of Medicine-Tucson, Associate Professor of Cancer Biology-GIDP, and Medical Director of the Arizona Clinical Trials Network at the University of Arizona Cancer Center. She serves as Co-Chair of the ASCO Gastrointestinal Guideline Advisory Group and a member of the Systemic Therapy for Advanced Hepatocellular Carcinoma Expert Panel, track leader of the Gastrointestinal Cancer–Gastroesophageal, Pancreatic, and Hepatobiliary track of the Annual Meeting Education Committee, the Gastrointestinal Cancers Symposium Leadership Committee, and the ASCO Daily News expert panel, among additional past volunteer service.