Susan G. Komen Names Eight Advisors to Guide Breast Cancer Research Program

Get Permission

Susan G. Komen announced new advisory roles for eight leaders in breast cancer who will guide the organization’s education and advocacy work, public health efforts, and help direct Komen’s $920 million research program.

On April 1, Jennifer A. Pietenpol, PhD, of Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, became Chief Scientific Advisor (CSA) for Komen. A leader in molecular genetics and triple-negative breast cancer, Dr. Pietenpol has served as a Komen Scholar since 2010. She joins George W. Sledge, Jr, MD, of Stanford University School of Medicine in the CSA role, responsible for guiding Komen’s Scientific Advisory Board. As global leaders of research, clinical practice, and patient advocacy, members of Komen’s Scientific Advisory Board help guide the organization’s research programs and priorities.

“Jennifer Pietenpol is both a world-class breast cancer researcher and a proven organizational leader through her directorship of Vanderbilt’s Cancer Center. She is a superb addition to our leadership,” said Dr. Sledge.

Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH, of Henry Ford Health System, is also joining Komen’s Scientific Advisory Board. A Komen Scholar since 2016, Dr. Newman’s primary research has focused on ethnicity-related variation in breast cancer risk and outcomes.

“An internationally known breast surgeon and breast cancer researcher, Lisa Newman augments our Scientific Advisory Board’s expertise in aggressive forms of breast cancer and brings a wealth of knowledge on health disparities in breast cancer,” Dr. Sledge added. “Our Bold Goal of reducing breast cancer mortality will benefit hugely from having someone of her talents as part of our Scientific Advisory Board.”

Deciding on Radiation Oncology

Komen also welcomes six individuals, including two new research advocates, to the Komen Scholars, an advisory group of distinguished leaders in breast cancer research and advocacy who are chosen for their knowledge and leadership within the scientific, research, and advocacy communities as well as for their own contributions to breast cancer research. These men and women lead and participate as reviewers in Komen’s scientific peer-review process and serve as experts and advocates for Komen’s nationwide network of Affiliates and in communities around the globe.

The newest members to join the Komen Scholars, effective April 1, are:

  • Anne M. Meyn, MEd, Advocate in Science Steering Committee member, Houston (research advocacy)
  • Elizabeth A. Mittendorf, MD, PhD, of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (immunotherapies)
  • Elizabeth A. Morris, MD, FACR, of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (diagnostic radiology)
  • Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MD, of The University of Chicago (health equity)
  • Ben H. Park, MD, PhD, of Johns Hopkins University (precision medicine)
  • Barbara Segarra-Vázquez, MT, DHSc, Advocate in Science Steering Committee member, San Juan, Puerto Rico (research advocacy).

“We are delighted to welcome these new leaders to the Komen Scholars,” said Victoria Wolodzko, Vice President of Research and Community Health Program Operations. “It is especially meaningful to have two more patient advocates joining the Komen Scholars. They constantly remind us about the realities of facing breast cancer and the urgent need for improving the ways breast cancer is detected, diagnosed, treated, and ultimately cured, benefiting both Komen’s research program and the entire field of breast cancer research in the process.”