Recipients of the David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture

Get Permission

David A. Karnofsky, MD, dedicated himself to the pursuit of scientific excellence and the investigation of more effective therapies for cancer for nearly 30 years, from the time he was a resident at the Collis P. Huntington Memorial Hospital for Cancer Research of Harvard University, until his death from lung cancer on August 31, 1969.

David A. Karnofsky, MD

David A. Karnofsky, MD

After Dr. Karnofsky's death, a group of his friends donated money to ASCO to fund a yearly lecture at ASCO's Annual Meeting, and in 1970, ASCO launched a permanent memorial to honor Dr. Karnofsky's body of work with the David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture. The Award is presented at ASCO's Annual meeting, and recognizes oncologists who have made outstanding contributions in the areas of cancer research, diagnosis, and/or treatment and is the Society's highest scientific honor.

The 2016 recipient of the David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture is Paul A. Bunn, Jr, MD (see page 6 for more on Dr. Bunn).

Past recipients of the award are listed below: 

2016: Paul A. Bunn, Jr, MD

2015: Suzanne L. Topalian, MD 

2014: H.M. (Bob) Pinedo, MD, PhD

2013: Martine J. Piccart, MD, PhD

2012: Kanti R. Rai, MD

2011: Kenneth Anderson, MD

2010: Daniel D. Von Hoff, MD, FACP

2009: Clara D. Bloomfield, MD

2008: V. Craig Jordan, OBE, PhD, DSc

2007: Robert A. Kyle, MD, MACP

2006: Dennis J. Slamon, MD, PhD

2005: Charles L. Sawyers, MD

2004: Larry Norton, MD

2003: Brian J. Druker, MD

2002: John Mendelsohn, MD

2001: Charles A. Coltman, Jr., MD

2000: Waun Ki Hong, MD

1999: Ronald Levy, MD

1998: Kathleen Foley, MD

1997: Alfred G. Knudson, MD, PhD

1996: Judah Folkman, MD

1995: Bert Vogelstein, MD

1994: Samuel Hellman, MD

1993: Irwin Krakoff, MD

1992: Joseph Bertino, MD

1991: Steven Rosenberg, MD

1990: Lawrence H. Einhorn, MD

1989: Gianni Bonadonna, MD

1988: Robert C. Gallo, MD

1987: Janet D. Rowley, MD

1986: Charles G. Moertel, MD

1985: Bruce A. Chabner, MD

1984: Saul A. Rosenberg, MD

1983: E. Donnall Thomas, MD

1982: James F. Holland, MD

1981: Emil Frei, III, MD

1980: Bernard Fisher, MD

1979: Vincent T. DeVita, Jr., MD

1978: Donald Pinkel, MD

1977: Frank J. Rauscher, Jr., PhD 

1976: Emil J. Freireich, MD

1975: Henry Rappaport, MD

1974: Joseph H. Burchenal, MD

1973: Robert A. Good, MD, PhD, DSc, FACP

1972: Henry S. Kaplan, MD

1971: Sidney Farber, MD

1970: Sir Alexander Haddow