AMA Announces Board of Trustees for 2016–2017

Get Permission

The American Medical Association (AMA) has introduced the 21 members of its Board of Trustees for the coming year, following elections held during the Annual Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates.

Andrew W. Gurman, MD, an orthopedic hand surgeon, was sworn in as the 171st President of the AMA. In leading the nation’s largest physician organization, Dr. Gurman will focus his tenure on advancing the AMA’s three strategic focus areas: to improve health outcomes for Americans living with prediabetes and hypertension; to accelerate change in medical education and prepare students for today’s health-care system; and to enhance physician satisfaction and practice sustainability.

David O. Barbe, MD, MHA, a family physician, was elected as the AMA’s new President-Elect, and Steven J. Stack, MD, an emergency physician, assumed the office of the AMA’s Immediate Past-President.

The new Chair of the AMA Board of Trustees is Patrice A. Harris, MD, MA, a psychiatrist. She is the first African American woman to hold this office. Gerald E. Harmon, MD, a family physician, was named Chair-Elect.

The other executive officers on the AMA Board of Trustees for 2016–2017 are:

  • Susan R. Bailey, MD, an allergist, was reelected Speaker of the AMA’s House of Delegates.
  • Stephen R. Permut, MD, JD, a family medicine physician, assumed the office of Immediate Past-Chair.
  • Jack Resneck, Jr, MD, a dermatologist, was named Secretary.
  • Bruce A. Scott, MD, an otolaryngologist, was re-elected Vice Speaker of the AMA’s House of Delegates.

The reelected member of the AMA Board of Trustees is:

  • William E. Kobler, MD, a family physician.

The newly elected members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • Willarda V. Edwards, MD, MBA, an internal medicine physician
  • Omar Z. Maniya, MBA, a medical student at the Georgetown University School of Medicine
  • William A. McDade, MD, PhD, an anesthesiologist
  • Kevin W. Williams, a former senior executive at General Motors, is the public member on the AMA Board.

The returning members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • Maya A. Babu, MD, MBA, a neurosurgical resident completing fellowship
  • Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, MD, MPH, an anesthesiologist
  • Russell W.H. Kridel, MD, a facial plastic surgeon
  • Barbara L. McAneny, MD, a medical oncologist/hematologist
  • Albert J. Osbahr III, MD, a family and occupational physician
  • Carl A. Sirio, MD, a critical care physician and internist
  • Georgia A. Tuttle, MD, a dermatologist

Members of the AMA Board of Trustees are elected by physicians and medical students representing more than 190 state and specialty medical societies. The mission of the AMA Board of Trustees is to foster the promotion of the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health. ■