AMA Announces 2013-2014 Board of Trustees; Names Oncologist Barbara McAneny, MD, Chair-elect

Get Permission

The American Medical Association (AMA) recently introduced the 21 members of its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held during the Annual Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates. The new Chair of the AMA Board of Trustees is David O. Barbe, MD, MHA, a Family Medicine physician from Mountain Grove, Missouri. Barbara L. McAneny, MD, a Medical Oncologist/Hematologist from Albuquerque, New Mexico, was chosen as Chair-elect.

Leadership Experience

Dr. McAneny’s medical leadership experience includes serving as President of the New Mexico Medical Society and the New Mexico Chapter of the American College of Physicians.  She previously served on ASCO’s Board of Directors and the Practicing Physicians’ Advisory Council (PPAC), a congressionally designated physician committee that advises Health and Human Services on Medicare.

Dr. McAneny is cofounder of her multi-disciplinary oncology practice and manages the New Mexico Cancer Center.  In New Mexico, she has been involved in medical liability reform, helping to maintain New Mexico’s cap on non-economic damages.  She also helped to pass New Mexico’s Dee Johnson Clean Indoor Air Act and direct monetary tobacco settlements toward prevention efforts. She also chairs the Albuquerque Emergency Medical Service Authority.

Executive Officers

The other executive officers on the AMA Board of Trustees for 2013-2014 are listed below:

Susan R. Bailey, MD, an Allergist, Immunologist and Pediatrician from Fort Worth, Texas, was re-elected Vice Speaker.

Andrew W. Gurman, MD, an Orthopedic Surgeon from Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania., was re-elected Speaker.

Carl A. Sirio, MD, a Citical Care Physician and Internist from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, was named Secretary.

Steven J. Stack, MD, an Emergency Medicine Physician from Lexington, Kentucky, assumed the office of Immediate Past Chair. ■