Daniel F. Hayes, MD, FASCO, Elected ASCO President for 2016–2017 Term

Get Permission

Daniel F. Hayes, MD, FASCO

Craig R. Nichols, MD

J. Chris Nunnink, MD, FASCO

Stephen B. Edge, MD, FACS, FASCO

Jedd D. Wolchok, MD, PhD

Daniel F. Hayes, MD, FASCO, has been elected President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) for the term beginning in June 2016. He will take office as President-Elect during the ASCO Annual Meeting in Chicago in June 2015.

“I’m honored to be elected incoming president of ASCO, which has had such a major influence on my professional career,” said Dr. Hayes. “I look forward to working with ASCO leadership and staff on the critical initiatives within the oncology community, including new strategies for health-care reform; the development of CancerLinQTM; efforts to improve value in cancer care; personalized cancer care; and reducing global disparities in cancer treatment. ASCO is uniquely positioned to tackle these issues head-on, and I look forward to being part of this exciting time in the life of the Society.”

Dr. Hayes, a breast cancer specialist, is Professor of Internal Medicine, Stuart B. Padnos Professor in Breast Cancer, and Clinical Director of the Breast Oncology Program at the University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center. An ASCO member since 1986, Dr. Hayes served on the ASCO Board of Directors from 2011 to 2014, the Conquer Cancer Foundation Grants Selection Committee, as Chair of the Scientific Program Committee, and on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Clinical Oncology.

Watch future issues of The ASCO Post for an interview with Dr. Hayes regarding his upcoming term.

Newly Elected ASCO Board Members

Four new members were elected to the ASCO Board of Directors and two new members were elected to the ASCO Nominating Committee (see page 127).

ASCO’s Board of Directors comprises oncology leaders who are elected to positions reflecting various specialties within the oncology field. The following physicians will begin 4-year terms as members of ASCO’s Board of Directors starting in June 2015:

Craig R. Nichols, MD, has been elected as Treasurer. Dr. Nichols is the Co-Director of the Testicular Cancer Multidisciplinary Clinic at Virginia Mason Medical Center in Seattle. He serves as co–primary investigator on the recently funded Northwest National Cancer Institute Community Oncology Research Program and is Executive Officer of Cancer Control and Prevention Research for the Southwest Oncology Group. An ASCO member since 1986, Dr. Nichols serves as Co-Chair of the Management of Testicular Cancer Committee and as a member of the Practice Guidelines Implementation Network. Previously, Dr. Nichols served as a member of the Genitourinary Cancers Symposium Program Committee and Health Services Committee and as Chair of the Nominating Committee.

J. Chris Nunnink, MD, FASCO, has been elected to a Community Oncologist seat. Dr. Nunnink is Attending Physician in Medical Oncology at Fletcher Allen Health Care and Associate Professor at the Vermont Cancer Center and the College of Medicine at the University of Vermont, where he is developing a network for oncology care in rural upstate New York and Vermont. An ASCO member since 1986, he currently serves on the Clinical Practice Committee and has served on the State Affiliate Council. Dr. Nunnink has served as an ASCO delegate to the American Medical Association (AMA) since 2010 and was the ASCO advisor to the AMA’s Relative Value Scale Update Committee.

Stephen B. Edge, MD, FACS, FASCO, has been elected to a Surgical Oncologist seat. Dr. Edge is Director of the Baptist Cancer Center and Adjunct Professor of Surgery at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. Since joining ASCO in 1988, he has co-chaired the Guideline Panel for Postmastectomy Radiation and served on the Health Services Research Committee. He is currently a member of the Technology Assessment Panel for Sentinel Node Biopsy in Breast Cancer. He was on the ASCO/National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) Quality Measure Panel and is currently on an ASCO Measure Development Task Force. He has been on the Editorial Boards of Cancer.Net, the Journal of Clinical Oncology, and the Journal of Oncology Practice.

Jedd D. Wolchok, MD, PhD, has been elected to an Undesignated Specialty seat. Dr. Wolchok is Chief of the Melanoma and Immunotherapeutics Service in the Department of Medicine and Associate Director of the Ludwig Center for Cancer Immunotherapy at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. He is Associate Professor in the Immunology and Microbial Pathogenesis Program at Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences of Cornell University and Associate Professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College. He is an Associate Member in the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research. Dr. Wolchok joined ASCO in 1998 and has served as Chair of the Scientific Program Committee and the Best of ASCO® Planning Committee. He has been a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Clinical Oncology, the Cancer Education Committee, and the Conquer Cancer Foundation Grants Selection Committee. ■