ASCO Announces Election Results for Terms Beginning June 2014

Get Permission

Linda D. Bosserman, MD, FACP

David Khayat, MD, PhD, FASCO

Walter J. Curran, Jr, MD, FACR

Charles D. Blanke, MD, FACP, FRCPC, FASCO

Gregory H. Reaman, MD, FASCO

David R. Spriggs, MD

In addition to the election of Julie M. Vose, MD, MBA, FASCO, as President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) for a 1-year term beginning in June 2015 (see page 85), ASCO has announced four new members who were recently elected to the ASCO Board of Directors and two new members recently elected to the ASCO Nominating Committee.

Newly Elected ASCO Board Members

The following physicians will begin 4-year terms as members of ASCO’s Board of Directors starting in June 2014:

Linda D. Bosserman, MD, FACP, has been elected to a Community Oncologist seat. She is President of the Wilshire Oncology Medical Group, Inc., in Los Angeles, California. Since joining ASCO in 1990, Dr. Bosserman has served on the Quality Care Symposium Planning Committee and Practice Guidelines Implementation Network. She was a member of the White House Physician Forum on Health Reform in 2009.

David Khayat, MD, PhD, FASCO, has been elected to an International Oncologist seat. He is the Head of the Department of Medical Oncology at Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital, in Paris, France. Since joining ASCO in 1987, he has served as Chair of the International Affairs Committee, on the Cancer Education Committee, and as Associate Editor of the Journal of Clinical Oncology (JCO). He has served as President of the French National Cancer Institute and the French Federation of Medical Oncologists.

Walter J. Curran, Jr, MD, FACR, has been elected to a Radiation Oncologist seat. He is the Executive Director of the Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University and the Lawrence W. Davis Professor and Chairman of the Department of Radiation Oncology. Since joining ASCO in 1988, Dr. Curran has served on the Cancer Research Committee, the Cancer.Net Editorial Board, and the Conquer Cancer Foundation Advanced Clinical Research Award in Glioma Subcommittee. He is a founding principal investigator of the NCI-funded cooperative group NRG Oncology and the Founding Chair of the NRG Oncology Foundation Board.

Charles D. Blanke, MD, FACP, FRCPC, FASCO, has been elected to an Undesignated Specialty seat. He is a Professor of Medicine at the Oregon Health & Science University Knight Cancer Institute in the Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology. Since joining ASCO in 1995, Dr. Blanke has served as Chair of the Cancer Education Committee, Co-Chair of the Gastrointestinal Cancers Symposium Program Committee, and on the JCO Editorial Board. He is the current Chair of the Southwest Oncology Group.

Newly Elected Members of ASCO Nominating Committee

Two newly elected ASCO Nominating Committee members will serve 3-year terms beginning in June 2014:

Gregory H. Reaman, MD, FASCO, is the Associate Director of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Office of Hematology and Oncology Products, a Professor of Pediatrics at The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences, and an Adjunct Professor of Oncology and Pediatrics at Georgetown University School of Medicine. Since joining ASCO in 1978, he has served on the Board of Directors, the Cancer Survivorship Committee, and as Chair of the Membership Committee.

David R. Spriggs, MD, is Head of the Division of Solid Tumor Oncology and the Winthrop Rockefeller Chair of Medical Oncology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and a Professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College. Since joining ASCO in 1986, he has served on the Scientific Program Committee, Chair of the Grants Selection Committee, and as an Associate Editor of JCO. Dr. Spriggs will serve as the 2016–2017 Chair of the Nominating Committee. ■