ASCO Celebrates Oncology Luminaries for 50th Anniversary

Get Permission

In the 50 years since the American Society of Clinical Oncology was founded, the treatment of cancer has advanced dramatically, due to the work of researchers making important scientific breakthroughs, physicians responsible for delivering those advances to patients, and countless others who contributed to the improvement of cancer care.

To celebrate the ASCO members who led many important advances over the past 50 years, several volunteer leaders of ASCO identified more than 50 Oncology Luminaries—individuals who have directly or indirectly advanced scientific progress against cancer and cancer patient care.

Throughout 2014, ASCO’s 50th year, the Society’s CancerProgress.Net website is profiling these individuals. The profiles may be found at

The list of luminaries is not exhaustive, and ASCO leaders recognize that many more people throughout history have shaped the field of oncology and advanced progress against cancer.  We hope that everyone can join with us in celebrating the accomplishments of all of these exceptional individuals, and the thousands of others who continue to work each day to advance the field.

Oncology Luminaries

Profiles have been posted for the following ASCO members:

  • ASCO Founders
  • Joseph Burchenal, MD, FASCO
  • Bruce A. Chabner, MD, FASCO
  • Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD
  • Brian J. Druker, MD
  • Sidney Farber, MD
  • Bernard Fisher, MD, FASCO
  • Daniel G. Haller, MD, FASCO
  • Waun Ki Hong, MD, FASCO
  • V. Craig Jordan, OBE, PhD, DSc
  • Henry S. Kaplan, MD
  • David A. Karnofsky, MD, FASCO
  • Alfred G. Knudson Jr, MD, PhD
  • John Mendelsohn, MD
  • Donald L. Morton, MD
  • Donald P. Pinkel, MD
  • Henry Rappaport, MS, PhD
  • Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD, FASCO
  • Janet D. Rowley, MD
  • Richard L. Schilsky, MD, FASCO
  • Edward Donnell Thomas, MD
  • Daniel Von Hoff, MD, FACP, FASCO
  • Robert A. Weinberg, PhD

Profiles coming soon:

  • Martin D. Abeloff, MD, FASCO
  • Karen H. Antman, MD, FASCO
  • James O. Armitage, MD, FASCO
  • Joseph R. Bertino, MD, FASCO
  • Clara D. Bloomfield, MD, FASCO
  • Gianni Bonadonna, MD
  • Paul A. Bunn Jr, MD, FASCO
  • Paul P. Carbone, MD, FASCO
  • Charles A. Coltman Jr, MD,
  • George Crile Jr, MD
  • Nancy E. Davidson, MD, FASCO
  • Vincent T. DeVita, Jr, MD, FASCO
  • John R. Durant, MD, FASCO
  • Lawrence H. Einhorn, MD, FASCO
  • Judah Folkman, MD
  • Emil Frei, MD, FASCO
  • John H. Glick, MD, FASCO
  • James F. Holland, MD, FASCO
  • Gabriel N. Hortobagyi, MD, FACP, FASCO
  • Rakesh K. Jain, PhD
  • David H. Johnson, MD, FACP, FASCO
  • Mary-Claire King, PhD
  • Richard Klausner, MD
  • Miodrag Kukrika, MD
  • Robert J. Mayer, MD, FASCO
  • Larry Norton, MD, FASCO
  • Sydney E. Salmon, MD, FASCO
  • Dennis J. Slamon, MD, PhD
  • Harold E. Varmus, MD
  • Umberto Veronesi, MD
  • Robert C. Young, MD, FASCO ■

© 2014. American Society of Clinical Oncology. All rights reserved.