10 New ASTRO Fellows Named in 10th Anniversary of FASTRO Designation

Get Permission

Ten distinguished members of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) have been named ASTRO Fellows, in the 10th anniversary year that the designation has been awarded. The 2016 class of Fellows will be recognized at an awards ceremony during ­ASTRO’s 58th Annual Meeting, to be held September 25–28, 2016, in Boston.

The ASTRO Fellows designation, or FASTRO, honors individuals who have significantly added to the field of radiation oncology in the areas of research, education, patient care, or service and leadership. Designees also have been an active or emeritus member of ASTRO for at least 15 years, giving the equivalent of 10 years of service to ­ASTRO through committee service and similar activities. With the addition of the 2016 class, a total of 269 ASTRO members have received the FASTRO designation since the inception of the award in 2006.

“The individuals in this class of ­ASTRO Fellows demonstrate both talent and commitment across multiple aspects of radiation oncology, particularly in clinical care, research, service, and education,” said ­ASTRO Chair Bruce D. Minsky, MD, ­FASTRO. “As is the case for our other Fellows, the clinicians and researchers in the 2016 cohort show a clear dedication to improving patients’ lives and advancing our field, especially through service to ASTRO and its initiatives.”

The new ASTRO Fellows include:

  • H. Joseph Barthold, MD
    Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital-Plymouth
  • Jennifer R. Bellon, MD
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Laura A. Dawson, MD
    Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, ­University of Toronto
  • Theodore L. DeWeese, MD
    Johns Hopkins University
  • Shalom Kalnicki, MD
    Montefiore Medical Center, Albert ­Einstein College of Medicine
  • Nancy P. Mendenhall, MD
    University of Florida
  • William M. Mendenhall, MD
    University of Florida
  • Todd Pawlicki, PhD
    University of California, San Diego
  • Timothy D. Solberg, PhD
    University of California, San Francisco
  • John H. Suh, MD
    Cleveland Clinic


H. Joseph Barthold,<br> MD

H. Joseph Barthold,

Jennifer R. Bellon,<br> MD

Jennifer R. Bellon,

Laura A. Dawson,<br> MD

Laura A. Dawson,

Theodore L. DeWeese,<br> MD

Theodore L. DeWeese,

Shalom Kalnicki,<br> MD

Shalom Kalnicki,

Nancy P. Mendenhall,<br> MD

Nancy P. Mendenhall,

William M. Mendenhall, MD

William M. Mendenhall, MD

Todd Pawlicki,<br> PhD

Todd Pawlicki,

Timothy D. Solberg,<br> PhD

Timothy D. Solberg,

John H. Suh,<br> MD

John H. Suh,