USPSTF Appoints New Chair and Co-Vice Chair

Get Permission

Michael L. LeFevre, MD, MSPH

Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, PhD, MD

The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recently announced the appointments of Michael L. LeFevre, MD, MSPH, as Chair of the Task Force and Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, PhD, MD, as Co-Vice Chair. Albert L. Siu, MD, MSPH, current Co-Vice Chair, will remain in his position. Dr. LeFevre and Dr. Bibbins-Domingo were appointed to their positions by the Director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

New Chair

Dr. LeFevre has been a member of the Task Force since January 2005 and was previously appointed Co-Vice Chair in March 2011. He is Vice Chair and Director of Clinical Activities for the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Missouri School of Medicine.

Dr. LeFevre is a practicing family physician, researcher, and widely published author. He has been invited to present to audiences across the country as an expert in the field. Dr. LeFevre’s research and clinical interests include family medicine, evidence-based medicine, information technology in clinical care, clinical practice guidelines, and preventive services.

New Co-Vice Chair

Dr. Bibbins-Domingo has been a member of the Task Force since July 2010. She is the Lee Goldman, MD endowed Chair in Medicine and Professor of Medicine and of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF). She is a general internist and attending physician at San Francisco General Hospital and is the Director of the UCSF Center for Vulnerable Populations.

Dr. Bibbins-Domingo’s research is focused on the epidemiology of cardiovascular diseases; race, ethnic, and income disparities in health; and clinical and public health interventions aimed at chronic disease prevention.

Dr. LeFevre replaces Virginia A. Moyer, MD, MPH, as Chair of the Task Force and will serve a 1-year term. Dr. Moyer served on the Task Force as a member from January 2003 to December 2008 and as Chair from March 2011 to March 2014. ■