IASLC Presents WCLC 2021 Lectureship Awards to International Array of Lung Cancer Researchers

Get Permission

The International association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC), at its 2021 World Conference on Lung Cancer (WCLC), presented awards to clinicians and researchers who made significant contributions to the treatment of patients with lung cancer. The awards represent many major categories of lung cancer research, from tumor staging to tobacco control and smoking cessation.

Staging Awards

  • Nominating Committee Chair: Hisao Asamura, MD
  • Robert J. Ginsberg Lectureship Award for Surgery—Shun-ichi Watanabe, MD, Tokyo, Thoracic Surgery
  • Clifton F. Mountain Lectureship Award for Staging—Ayten K. Cangir, MD, FEBTS, Turkey, Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Tsuguo Naruke Lectureship Award for Surgery—James Huang, MD, USA, Thoracic Surgery

Nominating Committee Awards

  • Nominating Committee Chair: Giorgio Scagliotti, MD
  • Daniel C. Ihde Lectureship Award for Medical Oncology—Fabrice Barlesi, MD, Marseille, France, Pulmonary Medicine
  • Heine H. Hansen Lectureship Award for Small Cell Lung Cancer—Trudy Oliver, PhD, United States, Pharmacology and Cancer Research

Nurses and Allied Health Professionals Award

  • Nurses and Allied Health Professionals Committee Chair: Melissa Culligan, MD
  • IASLC Lectureship Award for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals—Pippa Labuc, BSc OT, United Kingdom, Occupational Therapy
  • James D. Cox Lectureship Award for Radiation Oncology—Cecile Le Pechoux, MD, Villejuif, France, Radiation Oncology
  • IASLC Lectureship Award for Tobacco Control and Smoking Cessation—Graham Warren, MD, PhD, United States, Radiation Oncology

Pathology Committee Award

  • Pathology Committee Chair: Keith Kerr, MD
  • Fred R. Hirsch Lectureship Award for Translational Research (inaugural year)—Lynette Sholl, MD, United States, Pathology.