ASCO Welcomes 2020–2021 Board of Directors

Get Permission

ASCO is pleased to welcome the 2020–2021 Board of Directors and introduce the newly installed leaders who began their terms at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting on June 1, 2020.

ASCO and the Board of Directors extend their sincere gratitude to the outgoing Board members whose terms concluded in 2020, and to the members who serve on and lead committees, working groups, task forces, editorial boards, councils, expert panels, and other groups. The success of ASCO and Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation, would not be possible without the time, talent, expertise, and creativity of these generous and dedicated volunteers.


Chair of the Board

Howard A. “Skip” Burris III, MD, FACP, FASCO, Sarah Cannon Research Institute


Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO , University of Michigan


Everett E. Vokes, MD, FASCO, University of Chicago Medicine and Biological Sciences

Past President

Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD, FACS, FASCO, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute


Laurie E. Gaspar, MD, MBA, FASTRO, FACR, FASCO, Banner MD Anderson Cancer Center at North Colorado Medical Center and University of Colorado


Undesignated Specialty

Ethan M. Basch, MD, MSc, FASCO, University of North -Carolina Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

Radiation Oncologist

A. William Blackstock, MD, FASCO , Wake Forest University School of Medicine

Undesignated Specialty

Lisa A. Carey, MD, FASCO, University of North Carolina Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

Undesignated Specialty

Lee M. Ellis, MD, FACS, FASCO, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Pediatric Oncologist

Tara O. Henderson, MD, MPH, FASCO, University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center

Undesignated Specialty

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, FASTRO, FASCO, University of Michigan Medicine

Community Oncologist

Michael P. Kosty, MD, FACP, FASCO, Scripps Green Cancer Center

Surgical Oncologist

Elizabeth A. Mittendorf, MD, PhD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

International Oncologist

Tony S. K. Mok, BMSc, MD, FRCP(C), FRCP (Edin.), FHKCP, FHKAM (Medicine), FASCO, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Undesignated Specialty

Elizabeth R. Plimack, MD, MS, Fox Chase Cancer Center

Medical Oncologist

Eric J. Small, MD, FASCO, University of California, San Francisco, Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

International Oncologist

Enrique Soto Pérez de Celis, MD, MSc , Instituto Nacional de Ciencias Médicas y Nutrición Salvador Zubirán

Community Oncologist

Michael A. Thompson, MD, PhD, FASCO, Advocate Aurora Health

Community Oncologist

Tracey F. Weisberg, MD, FASCO, New England Cancer Specialists


Chair, Conquer Cancer Board

Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD, FASCO, Farallon Capital Management, LLC


Clifford A. Hudis, MD, FACP, FASCO, ASCO 

© 2020. American Society of Clinical Oncology. All rights reserved.